Visa Introduction

Indonesia is constitutional state which is based on Pancasila and UUD 1945. In addition as a constitutional state, Indonesia is also a state which is rich of various culture from Sabang to Meurauke. With various cultures owned by Indonesia, it has special attraction for foreign citizens to visit Indonesia. To maintain security stability of Indonesia, the government makes regulations on Immigration.

With this Immigration Regulations, the Indonesian Government can control the traffic of people who come in or out of Indonesia Territory. One of the form of controls is to oblige all foreign citizens who intend to come into Indonesian Territory to have Visa.

Visa for RI is an entry permit given by the authorities of RI Representatives or In other places decided by the Government of RI containing consent for Foreign Citizen to come and execute trip in Indonesian Territory.

Types of Visa in Indonesia are as follows:

  1. Diplomatic Visa – given for the purpose of diplomatic activities.
  2. Official Visa – is given for the purpose to undertake official duties from foreign countries concerned or delegated by International organization but the duty is not a diplomatic.
  3. Transit Visa – is given for the purpose to transit in the territory of Indonesia to continue his or her trips to other countries or return to his or her countries.
  4. Visiting Visa – is given for the purposes of visiting in term of governmental duty tourists, social-cultural and business activities.
    Types of Visiting Visa :
    1. Multiple journey
    2. Single journey
  5. Limited Stay Permit Visa (ITAS – Residence Visa) – is given for the following purposes:
    1. Investment
    2. Work
    3. Religious Duty
    4. Education, Training and Research Activities
    5. Join husband and/or parents for legal wife and/or children of Indonesian citizens
    6. Join husband and/or parents for legal wife and under age children of foreign citizens
    7. Repatriation

On 01 of February 2004 pursuant to President of RI Decree No. 18 Year 2003 and Decision of Minister of Justice and Human Right of RI No. M-04.Iz.01.10 Year 2003, Government of RI has enforced regulation on Free Visa facilities for Short Visit and Visa on Arrival for foreign citizen from several countries who intend to visit Indonesia as tourists, social-culture, business visit or government delegation.

Visa-Free Short Visits is given for the longest period of 30 days since the arrival date/entry to Indonesian Territory and the permit can not be extended. The countries obtaining Free Visa on Arrival are: Brunei, Chile, Hongkong, Malaysia, Macao, Morroco, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Visa On Arrival (VOA) can be given for a period of 5 or 30 days. This Visa On Arrival can be extended on the approval of Director General of Immigration and the status can not be transferred into other immigration permit.
The cost for Visa On Arrival for a period of 5 days is in the amount of US $ 10 and Visa On Arrival for a period of 30 days costs US $ 25. The countries obtaining facilities of Visa On Arrival are : Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Laos, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Surinam, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan Territory, United of Emirates Arab, United Kingdom, and USA.
Other nationals not listed above need to request a visa prior to the departure.
For foreigners who intend to visit Indonesian Territory, please pay attention to your passport validity. The minimum validity of passport is 6 moths after arrival in Indonesia.